Protestants ?

Posted: July 17, 2008 by piusranson in Uncategorized

Who says i hate protestants ? Well, i may sound as if i hate protestants. Nope. Not at all. We are taught to love. “Love one another as i have loved you”. God is Love. One very good way to live a life as a faithful son of God is to love and not hate.

Whenever you feel some hatred towards a person, always think of one question. “What if he/she is Christ ? “. Even if you’re a not a Christian (Be it the Orthodox and Unorthodox), this question can also be of use. Let’s say you’re a muslim, “What if he/she is Prophet Muhammad ?”

Protestants. How did protestants come about ? It all begin with Martin Luther. With Martin Luther taking the first step, people like John Calvin. Do not confuse Martin Luther with Martin Luther King Jr. Since the breakaway, many many countless denominations. Roman Catholicism isn’t a denomination of Christianity.

Try asking a protestant this “What is your religion ? ” They will say “Christianity”, naturally you will know he/she is a protestant. Continue asking this, “Which denomination of protestantism are you from ? “. A confirmed reply is “huh ?!” I think protestants don’t even know they are protestants. They will go on telling you, ” Christianity is not a religion, it is a relationship with God”. haha. That is because this is how you think it is, be it true or not.  

Next attempts to ask them “Where does the Bible comes from ? ” They will say, “God”. Continue asking them, “Yes, scripture is inspired by God, but where does it come from?” . See how they reply you😉

But yes, we must still love our Protestant brothers and sisters. I have seen many good Protestants, Who live a life of Christ. But some protestants are intolerable. It is extremely irritating to see protestants attempting to prove the Catholics or any other respectable Faiths, wrong.

Once i was sitting somewhere near Foodcourt 3 with Shin, doing some statistics online CA, when two guys from the NUS Campus Crusade (affliated with SP’s Campus Crusade) came. Guess what ? They tried to convert a Muslim. Can you believe that ? Maybe right now, you think it is still ok. Yes, wait till you listen to the whole story. They tried with certain tactics. Probably i shouldn’t use the word “tactic” but yes it is something certainly unorthodox.
First both of us were approached by that two guys mentioned above. First one attended to Shin, while the second one attended to me. Instead of telling us where they are from, they tell us they want to know about the lives of students nowadays. But at that instant, i can already tell that they are the people who engages in illegitimate proselytism.

Secondly, they took a pack of cards with different pictures in it, and ask us to pick six pictures. three to describe our current lives and another three to describe what kind of lives we want. Yes, they attempted to brainwash us by telling us that something could change our current lives to better lives.

Thirdly, they took out this brochure. Telling me about Christianity. I told them, yes, i am a baptised Christian. I continued telling them i am a Roman Catholic. He tries to explain Christianity to me as though i’m a non-practicing Christian. He started questioning me about Christianity, “Do you know about Jesus saying, I am the truth, the way and the life?” But it was a yes to every question. He ran out of questions and said, “Why not you tell me about your Catholic faith?” I took this opportunity to tell him those facts and the common questions Protestants gives to Catholic, trying to prove us wrong. Finally he said, “Oh okay, thanks for sharing” before walking away.

Yes, the other guy is still there attempting to convert Shin. They gave him bible verses like, “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only son…” and “I am the way, the truth and the life”, that guy followed by saying, “In this case we know Christ is the one WE should follow, so do you want to put Christianity above yourself or put yourself above Christianity”. Yes that unorthodox guy provides Shin, a Muslim, with only two options”.

I was freaking angry. I started telling that guy, “In that case, My friend over here puts his FAITH over his life/himself.” Again, he tells us, “Since Christ is the only way, would you be willing to put Christianity as part of your life and above it ? “. I got even irritated and said, “It is not fair trying to ask a muslim this question. He became MORE PERSISTENT. After a few rounds of psychological debate, he gave up. He said, “Oh, okayyyy.. thank you for your time”.

That is freaking wrong. It even occurs in School. Why is Singapore Polytechnic allowing such people to do such activities in a School ?

Yes, One of our Job as Christians is to evangelise, but not to resort to such “tactics”. Pope Benedict once mentions that the Church with the Capital C, grows by its beauty too. 

Dear friends, do remember that a fuzzy feeling doesn’t indicate God’s presence.

Comments
  1. junling says:

    BOOOO!
    ur posts are all sooo religious!!
    HAHAHAS.

  2. Shin says:

    Thanks for being there on my guard. I was quite pissed off with that too. I mean shouldn’t they be like respecting other religions? We certainly do, thus my silence.

  3. kohkohpops says:

    Heya!

    I came across your Facebook profile, and subsequently this blog, when I clicked on religions and viewing the profiles there.

    After reading through your blog post, I cannot help but quite agree with you. I’ve been a Roman Catholic all my life, and like most respectable Catholic families, display a crucifix at the entrance of our house.

    One saturday, 2 aunties came a-ringing early in the morning. I was wondering what these 2 would possibly want with me. Since they were standing in the hot sun, I obliged and walked out to talk to them.

    Apparently, they said they saw the crucifix and said that since I was a Christian, like they were, they wanted to discuss a few topics with me; from why we need salvation and what do we expect after we die. The moment they asked me to bring down my Bible, I lost all my cool and raised my voice and answered that firstly, I was a Roman Catholic and didn’t want to be associated with Protestants like themselves, and secondly, I told them flat that our translation of the Bible had 5 more books than theirs’ and therefore much more superior and it was pointless for me to run upstairs to take my Bible out.

    Unsuppressed, they soldiered on and carried on, what i suspect, a well rehearsed speech. Bear in mind, it was a saturday morning and I usually sleep in till late. So i was annoyed and all they said passed through one ear and came out through the other.

    The conversation turned towards life after death. They asked me where I would see myself after I die as a Christian. I pointed out to them yet again that I am a Roman Catholic and I lurched through my mentally prepared speech of purgatory and a pre-determined period of spiritual cleansing there based on the severity of our sins committed here on Earth. They disagreed and said that all Christians are promised salvation and direct entry into the Kingdom of Heaven.

    By now I was seething mad and they asked what do we do in Heaven, and I replied that we praise God for all eternity before his throne. Yet again, they disagreed and flipped through their bibles for some nonsensical verse.

    At some point, I got really fed up and told them to leave as I was late for my Novena devotions to the Blessed Virgin Mary. Thankfully for them they did not refute my last statement for it would definitely be hell on earth for them if they so much as broached the topic of our Blessed Mother.

    So here is my experience I had with Protestants.
    I think if God gave them a gift, it would have to be persistency.

    I do my own fair share of blogging and I fill it up to the brim with Catholicism just to spite the number of Protestant friends and family whom I know read it religiously.

    Its http://www.iwannaflythea380lah.blogspot.com if you’re interested.

    *I am in SP too, and I’m waiting to be approached by those Campus Crusade when I am having my meal of Food Court 4 or something….

    Ian Nicholas Michael Koh

  4. Jan jan to Ranson says:

    Lolx! Cool blog you have..love the insightful comments and arguements you put across..!!😀

  5. Janice to Ranson says:

    Peek! hello! haha…lolx..cool bloG! heex..really quite an eye opener

  6. Cheryl says:

    Ahhh… blog more about your life leh =P

Leave a Reply

